Monday, June 15, 2020

Lost In Translation (Soundtrack): Tipstor® Pick

Summary: Lost in Translation is the soundtrack from the 2003 film of the same name, directed by Sofia Coppola. The soundtrack was supervised by Brian Reitzell and was released on September 9, 2003 through Emperor Norton Records. It contains five songs by Kevin Shields, including one from his group My Bloody Valentine.

Album: Lost in Translation

Artist: Various Artists

Label: Ryko/WEA


While Lost in Translation features upbeat, debaucherous moments like Peaches’ “Fuck the Pain Away” and Phoenix’s “Too Young,” the film is remembered for the swirling shoegaze sounds of My Bloody Valentine and Air, accompaniments that turn Tokyo’s glaring neon surroundings into hazy, soft memories, even in the present. Since her 1999 debut, The Virgin Suicides, Coppola has used needle drops to express certain feelings that cannot be articulated, and here, the Jesus and Mary Chain’s reverb-cloaked “Just Like Honey” acts as the ideal romantic declaration in that famously indecipherable final scene. Coppola understands, and cosigns, something powerful in this moment: Sometimes, nothing we can say lives up to the perfect song.


from WordPress